DIY: galaxy print shoes

Hi there!

Because I’ve got vacation I started a lot of little diy-projects. One of them was making a galaxy print on my old shoes. I didn’t like the colour of my diesel boots anymore, because it faded a bit and became a sort of greyish purple. (and I still have another pair of the exact same boots, so no worries if anything would have gong wrong 😉 But I’m quite happy with the result! )

I’ve seen a lot of diy galaxy print shoes tutorials online, but I wanted to use oil paint instead of spray paint or acrylic paint (I guess these are the most used  materials to paint your shoes). I like oil paint because it’s water resistant and it’s very easy to apply, you can paint wet-on-wet, which means you don’t have to wait till the paint has dryed before applying a new layer. My mum used to make oil paintings, so I had quite a lot of colours to choose from, but the most important colours you need for this are black, white, red and blue (you can make purple if you mix red & blue).

My shoes are made of suede and the paint dryed quite fast. I also painted a pair of converse all stars at the same day, but those are still wet after two days. But for both shoes I’ll wait at least one week to wear them, I don’t want to ruin my clothes with oil paint..

I’ll update this post later when I know what will happen when it’s wet outside and whether the paint will survive or not. Here’s my little tutorial, it’s not difficult to paint, it took me about two hours in total which included cleaning my hands as well. I hope everything’s clear and don’t hesitate to ask any questions!

Lots of love,

Tall

9 Comments on “DIY: galaxy print shoes”

  1. Annika Victoria says:

    WOW!!! Dude, they look awesome!

  2. […] DIY: galaxy print shoes (tallandtiny.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookPinterestTumblrStumbleUponDiggEmailGostar disto:GostoBe the first to like this. […]

  3. […] Ps. remember tall’s diy galaxy print shoes tutorial? […]

  4. […] ps: Check out the DIY for the collar clips HERE and the DIY for the galaxy boots HERE! […]

  5. Gaby says:

    what happens if it gets wet? very nice btw 🙂

  6. Gaby says:

    Are they ok when they get wet? Very nice btw 🙂

    • Hey Gaby,

      nothing happens when they get wet! 🙂 That’s because I used oil paint and that’s waterproof, I’ve worn them several times when it was raining and everything was fine!

      Xx Elvi

  7. […] about of trying to have an adventurous day at school (didn’t really happen in the end..), THIS is a link to Elvi’s DIY galaxy print boots, which you should definitely try for yourself if […]


Leave a Reply

